Uncategorized

Italy…Here We Come!!!

Image

 

I was born and raised in the Washington, DC area.  I have NEVER lived more than 45 minutes away from my family who currently reside in my hometown of Bowie, MD.  So imagine my surprise when my boyfriend who is in the Air Force told me that he was being assigned overseas to Italy for 3 years and he wanted me to come….  Before I go into my thoughts with this overwhelming bit of news, let me give you some history on us ❤

 

Image

I met my boyfriend, Mike in September of 2011 at a bar in Downtown DC.  He had just moved here from Nebraska where he was previously stationed.  Long story short, we met, had our first date a few days later, had sex on our first date and have been together ever since.  And for the record, let me just say I am not ashamed of hooking up on the first date lol.  I am not one of those clingy bitches, so it was never awkward after that lol.  Take note clingy bitches!!!  Anyway, 6 months later in late March he was deployed to Saudi Arabia for 6 months and returned in September of 2012.  We decided to move in together right before he was deployed, so we were already taking a big risk as we had only been together for 6 months before he was deployed.  We moved in together and have been living in sin since.

4 weeks after returning home from deployment he found out that he was being assigned to a base in Italy and DUH, I am going.  First let me say, I am very confident in my relationship and I am sure we could survive 3 years long distance, but who the hell would want to do that.  Its expensive, tiring and personally I didn’t want to deal with it.  Again, I found all of this out 4 weeks after he returned in September and we were told that we had to move by June 2013.  I thought we had plenty of time to prepare ourselves and what not for the move.  Guess what?!  I was wrong.  It is now damn near the middle of March and we move in 2-3 months and my mind is just racing because I am scared, overwhelmed, excited and nervous all together.

1) We are NOT married.  I am giving up a lot to relocate to another country with my BOYFRIEND with no benefits what so ever.  Talk all the shit you want, but I am 500% in love with my boyfriend and I don’t need to pressure him to marry me just because we are moving to another county.  So let’s get that out the way now….

2) My family.  I am beyond close to my family and the thought of being away from them for 3 years is freaking me out, but I guess it is time to cut the umbilical cord, eh??

3) It’s a WHOLE NEW COUNTRY! I have never lived out the state of MD/DC.  How the fuck am I supposed to survive in a whole different countries where some homes don’t even have dishwashers, bathtubs or closets!!!  You read correctly…NO CLOSETS!!  I have over 150 pairs of shoes….That shit just isn’t going to fly.

At the end of the day, I am extremely excited.  I am going to be doing what tons of people dream to do and more importantly with the person I love and PLAN to marry one day.  I have never questioned my decision to move with him, but that doesn’t mean I can’t vent about my nervousness and fears right…. lol.  Ugh wish me luck in the next few weeks!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

